My Sweat Was Meant to Flow…by Osalam Wosu 


My sweat 

  was meant to flow 

     and water the bushes 

  that thus from my body spring.

Brackish elixir 

   meandering through my arm’s       lands,

Speaking of the labours of my hands 


My blood was meant to flow

It’s crimson the sigil of my troubles 

‘Twas meant to hurt 

When let loose from this fleshy fort 

As punition to my endless errs,

As cognition of family’s heirs.


But our love wasn’t meant to kill

‘Twasn’t meant to be the rod

that draws the blood and leaves me bare

‘Twasn’t meant to be the labour that burst the fountains 

which beneath my smile lies in ambush.

Our love was meant to give life 

But instead it did augur strife 


My sweat 

    was meant to flow 

My blood 

    was meant to pour 

And your  love did both.


©2017 2edged Pen 


Leave a Reply

